Catch and Release

I have a best friend. I have two best friends.
A boy and a girl. Douglas and Ngore.
Those two mean the world and beyond to me.
They say love knows no distance, no time, no hurdles.
I can testify, I’ve seen it, I’ve lived it, one day I’ll write about it.

I have this best friend, of seven years. She’s been in my life like…
Let’s not go there, it’s quite the love story. A story not ready to be told.

In high school I used to listen to VOA Music Mix Network, Larry London and such.
I stayed alone for the bigger part of A’level in a big quiet house and my motivation for reading/polishing my mathematics was my love for music. I’d wait for midnight, for when VOA would feature on the local stations.

Hit after hit. For songs you’d hear once in two days or catch on MNET if chance landed on it’s belly, otherwise you’d never grasp their title, let alone the lyrics. That’s where the Internet Cafe would come in. Apart from my old yahoo mailbox from where I would send mails to my then to be ex-girlfriend Charlotte, and the yahoo news I’d read so as to feed the school with current affairs; I was Information Prefect, my money would be spent on lyrics.

Lyrics. Lyrics I’d share them with a few who had a sinewy liking for music as I did. Today I got mail, a mail from my best friend, we hadn’t been talking for a week now. We had differences, sometime back when she flew in. See we’ve never been lovers, and never will but we’ve loved each other from day one, still do and always will.

The Mail, “Hey Hun, remember when we gave our lyrics of our best song to this girl and she refused to give them back, and we lost them.” “Well, guess what, I have some for you. For you new best song.” I’d forgotten I used to surf for lyrics even.

“Catch & Release”

There’s a place I go to
Where no one knows me
It’s not lonely
It’s a necessary thing
It’s a place I made up
Find out what I’m made of
The nights I’ve stayed up
Counting stars and fighting sleep

Let it wash over me
I’m ready to lose my feet
Take me off to the place where one reveals life’s mystery
Steady on down the line
Lose every sense of time
Take it all in and wake up that small part of me
Day to day I’m blind to see
And find how far
To go

[Hook:]
Everybody got their reason
Everybody got their way
We’re just catching and releasing
What builds up throughout the day

It gets into your body
It flows right through your blood
We can tell each other secrets
And remember how to love

There’s a place I’m going
No one knows me
If I breathe real slowly
Let it out and let it in
It can be terrifying
To be slowly dying
Also clarifying
We end where we begin

So let it wash over me
I’m ready to lose my feet
Take me off to the place where one reveals life’s mystery
Steady on down the line
Lose every sense of time
Take it all in and wake up that small part of me
Day to day I’m blind to see
And find how far
To go

[Hook]

It gets into your body
And it flows right through your blood
We can tell each other secrets
And remember how to love

[Hook]

And it gets into your body
And it flows right through your blood
We can tell each other secrets
And remember how to love

There’s truth in this song, the whole truth. People don’t let people lie to you that friend zones are not cool. You won’t bed everyone after all, and some people are good to be around but not good enough to hit your heart,or any place near it. If you easily like, fall for and love, it’s something you’ll live to cherish.

Download:

3 thoughts on “Catch and Release

  1. Amanya says:

    People know that, but the loins don’t wanna know. And if you aren’t getting some, if you’re famished, that person next to you becomes a potential meal. And that want, if not handled with care, that transition from friend to lover, can blow up because it’s tricky. It’s trying to fuse two souls, like trying to fit a square into a circle. Because what one feels, the other doesn’t know the extent of the other’s feels.

    If you’re having a full tummy, you won’t see everything as potential food stuff, you’ll see like 1001 other reasons to possess.

Leave a Reply

